Truth

With my mind I know truth to be  things like 2+2=4. As well as  technicalities that have been proven accurate or at the very least so widely accepted that no one even considers questioning them. These ‘truths’ are easy to understand, anyone can be taught these truths. Likewise, anyone can establish these facts in their own mind without any reservation concerning their accuracy. There are right answers and there are wrong answers and distinctions to these, that I make in my mind. Likewise, there are truths that are only be true for me. The distinction of these truths, I make with my spirit/heart.

My Spirit was once dormant, and so the truths that needed it’s filter were often perceived for lies and vice versa. When I saw good things, like financial success, I was tempted to think “How can that person be so selfish and greedy, can’t they see other people in need?”  But now I know that God wants me to be successful (2 Corinthians 8:9), and those people that don’t know God and are still financially successful are operating in laws that the bible talks about (Mark 11:23), whether they know it or not.

In John, before His crucifixion, Jesus tells his disciples about the Holy Spirit. In chapter 14 verse 26, Jesus sums up the Holy Spirit’s job on earth in this way: “But when the Father sends the Advocate as my representative—that is, the Holy Spirit—he will teach you everything and will remind you of everything I have told you.” Jesus is promising his disciples, which includes us, that they will not be alone on earth when Jesus leaves.

Jesus said, “He is the Holy Spirit, who leads into all truth. The world cannot receive him, because it isn’t looking for him and doesn’t recognize him. But you know him, because he lives with you now and later will be in you” (14:17).

Bear with me for a moment when I say that humans did not need the holy spirit to figure out that 2+2=4. God gave us a powerful brain for that, which is a gift that many of us have perverted by not using for God. Humans need the Holy Spirit to answer questions like, “How do I talk to my best friend about Jesus?” That isn’t a technical question, but doesn’t every question have an answer?  Truly. And for me this answer comes from only one place. The Holy Spirit.

Whether I am praising God and listening to the Holy Spirit, reading the word and seeking out the Holy Spirit, or praying and specifically asking God questions, the Holy Spirit always answers my questions. He always imparts truth into my soul that only he can give me.

What kind of truth do you need?

 

Thank you for your love and support

God Bless you

-Frederik

 

All scriptures from the New Living Translation

Leave a Reply

